Sparkfun AVC Build Log 2015-04-13

In my previous post, I laid out a list of basic things that I needed or wanted to get done, in order of importance. Since then, I ordered a GPS module (specifically the SUP800F, which integrates a GPS receiver, compass, accelerometer, thermometer, and barometer) and have gotten in working with my Raspberry Pi. I used the directions from Adafruit to get it to appear as a TTY in the Pi and read data from it.

The SUP800F is definitely a good value, but it has some quirks. The documentation is acceptable, although I’ve found a few mistakes and some things are missing. When you order it, it comes with a USB breakout board that you can use to read data from the module or configure it, which is really handy. You can also download a proprietary Windows program to read and visualize data from the module, and configure it this way too. If you want to configure it manually, or from something other than Windows, then you’ll need to find a separate AN0028 document. This is one area where the documentation falls short; the module contains some features that are not described in the AN0028 document and I’m not sure how to configure them manually. You can configure them from the propriety program, but that’s annoying when I already have it connected to the Pi. Another annoying thing is that the module is modal: it’s always either returning human-readable GPS (or specifically, NMEA) messages or a proprietary binary format that includes accelerometer, temperature, and raw magnetometer values. Switching between modes is slow, but I’m hoping that’s a problem on my end that I can fix. The documentation also claims that the compass is self-calibrating by rotating it twice in 5 seconds, but I’m not sure how to clear the calibration bit if it’s miscalibrated.

When I first got the module hooked up, I took the car out for a test spin. And spin it did, in circles, for a long time. Trying to debug what the car was doing was tricky; I was logging all my data, but reading it back and trying to compare that with what the car was doing at any particular time was painful. I could SSH into the Pi and tail the log in real time, but the data were scrolling by so quickly that it was hard to scan. I decided that I needed a monitoring solution.

I wanted to be able to access the remote monitor without needing a specialized program, so I decided to run a small web server on the Pi. Any WiFi enabled device with a web browser would be able to view the data. This was also nice because I could add an easy remote kill switch; click a button on the page, and the car stops.

I ended up choosing CherryPy because it’s a lightweight framework, and because it supports websockets. Without websockets, the page would need to poll the web server to keep getting the most recent information about the car, which would require renegotiating a new TCP connection every time. The Pi continually sends data to any connected clients, which is updated in the web page. I also added some buttons at the top to remotely control the car, including starting, stopping, and calibrating the compass. Finally, I plugged my logging infrastructure into the page so that I can view recent info, warning and error messages. Here’s what it looks like:

sparkfun-avc-monitor

Based on this, it looks like my compass was having some issues. I’m going to focus on debugging that next.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sparkfun AVC Build Log 2015-04-13

  1. JesseJay says:

    That web gui looks very interesting, I’d like to do something similar. Any example code to share?

Leave a Reply

