2014 Side Projects

I recently saw This Year in Side Projects on Hacker News, and it seemed like it would be a good idea to document my year too.

Side Projects

 

Node JavaScript libraries cache

I’ve always thought that one of the most clever things that Google has done is incentivize website owners to allow Google to track their users by providing them with free tools. Install Google Analytics on your site and they’ll provide you with real-time information about how many users are visiting your site, where they are coming from, and how they got there! Of course, this information is collected by sending requests from your browser to Google, which they presumably use to track users.

It’s not that I explicitly distrust Google, but after the revelations that the NSA has backdoors inside many company’s servers, I’d rather not send the information at all. It’s really easy to install privacy add ons in browsers that block such tracking, but then Google offering hosting for popular JavaScript libraries. They sold this with the argument that sites would load faster and that users wouldn’t need to download the same library on a dozen different sites. These are good points, but the latest minified version of jQuery is only 33 KiB uncompressed, and most sites that I’ve seen use different minor versions of jQuery anyway, so it’s not like a lot of bandwidth is being saved. So now, you’re given the choice between keeping your viewing habits private and having a website that functions.

To avoid hitting a CDN and potentially being tracked, I wrote a small app in Node that you run locally that intercepts requests for JS libraries and either serves it from a local cache, or downloads it t a cache and then serves it. Just edit your hosts file to point the CDNs at localhost and you should be good to go. There’s still some room for improvement. I haven’t tried to get it to work with HTTPS, although I haven’t found any sites that use CDNs over HTTPS so that hasn’t been a problem yet. Google also offers font hosting, and they do some magic on the backend to dynamically generate CSS for only the font sizes you need, and that isn’t supported yet, but it’s a start.

TLS upgrader

Earlier in the year, I installed the browser add on Calomel SSL Validation, which ranks the strength of your SSL connection. Initially I thought something was broken because it was ranking many sites as very weak, but then I realized that many websites just defaulted to terrible encryption.

The way that TLS negotiation works is your browser sends a list of algorithms that it supports in the order that it prefers them, and then the server you’re connecting to picks one that it also supports and responds back. Unfortunately, a lot of servers prefer weaker algorithms because they require less CPU resources, and will ignore your browser’s preferences to use stronger algorithms.

Initially, I tried just disabling the weakest algorithms, but some sites (Amazon, Wikipedia) just stopped working. Some sites would load most of the page, but one particular part of the page would use different encryption than the rest, so some part of the page wouldn’t work. It was really frustrating to load YouTube and see the entire page load, and then the video would mysteriously fail. To try to work around this, I wrote a SOCKS proxy that you would run locally that would intercept HTTPS requests and incrementally renegotiate TLS connections. It would prefer strong algorithms, and if no common algorithm was found, it would fall back to weaker ones until a match was found. It would then forward that connection to the browser.

Halfway through the project, I realized that an attacker could use this to force weaker connections. I figured that there must have been some protection in the protocol against these kinds of attacks, and after reading enough of the IETF TLS document, it turned out there was. I finished up the project just because it was a good learning experience, and sure enough, Firefox gives a big scary warning that someone is tampering with your connection when you use it, so that was a dead end.

I had originally wanted to use an external proxy so that the same proxy would work with any browser or client, but that wasn’t going to work. I figured that any program that tried to incrementally renegotiate TLS would need to be run in the client. I started looking at modifying SSL Anywhere to see if that would work, but got pretty lost and didn’t make much progress.

Raspberry Pi radio control

Ever since I read about how you can use software to turn the Raspberry Pi GPIO pin into an FM transmitter, I was intrigued by the idea of modifying it to drive a radio controlled car. It would be really easy to make a robot by buying an off the shelf RC car and just taping a Raspberry Pi to the top. You can read more about here.

SparkFun Autonomous Vehicle Competition

Related to the above, I entered the SparkFun Autonomous Vehicle Competition. I used an RC car from Radio Shack and an Android phone for telemetry data. It didn’t go well – I started too late and probably spent too much time writing the Raspberry Pi radio control. On the plus side, my car never had problems moving; a lot of people had trouble even making it off the line. My design was completely disconnected – the phone connected to the Pi over WiFi and the Pi drove the car by broadcasting signals. I think avoiding wires and connections helped avoid a lot of gremlins.

OpenCV distance estimator

I wanted to have a quick and easy way to estimating distance to a target for another project I’m working on. Initially I considered using two targets and using image recognition to identify and measure the angle between them, but after some testing I found that I could get very accurate estimations using only a single target. You can read more about this project here.

frozen pipes monitor

The pipes in my apartment froze last year. My landlord has never dealt with frozen pipes before, which is understandable, and their solution was to have me turn my heat up to 80 and wait for the pipes to thaw. He was worried that there might be breaks in the pipes, so he wanted me to turn the faucet on and call him as soon as it started running.

Unfortunately, after a few hours, I needed to use the bathroom. I also wanted to shower and drink some water, but I couldn’t leave the house. I ended up pointing my webcam at the faucet and spinning up a quick website so that I could view the faucet from my phone. Later, I wanted to go out to dinner and not need to constantly check my phone, so I used OpenCV to detect changes in the image and Twilio to send me an SMS when the image changed. I didn’t have an accurate way to test the code because I couldn’t turn the water on, but it worked! When the water came back on, I got a message and checked the page to confirm.

Webcam setup

Webcam setup

collaborative multiplayer GameBoy

After seeing the hilarity of Twitch plays Pokémon, I wanted to see if it would be possible to reduce the lag for players. The original version on Twitch was accepting commands from users, feeding them into a GameBoy emulator, and then streaming that back out to thousands of connected users. This turnaround caused about a 10 second lag, which was really frustrating. I wanted to see if I could modify a JavaScript GameBoy emulator and only multiplex the commands out to each user. Each user’s browser would then emulate the GameBoy normally.

Because the emulator was written in JavaScript, I used Node on the server side so that I could emulate the game simultaneously and provide the full game state to newly connected clients. As with many emulation projects, the easy part was getting the graphical stack to work, but audio synchronization was a lot harder. If a client was emulating faster than the server, then it would need to slow down, which caused noticeable audio artifacts.

Although I got multiple clients to connect and emulate simultaneously, I never ironed out the audio issues, and another site beat me to it. I was also worried about the legality of distributing ROM images along with web pages, which wasn’t a problem with the original Twitch Plays Pokémon.

2015

Looking forward, I’d like to get a head start on another SparkFun AVC entry. I’ve started reading a bunch of papers on improved position and other state estimation using Kalman filters, and I’m hoping to more manual testing. I’ve also started learning Rust by writing my command code for the car in it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2014 Side Projects

  1. Ahahaha I really like the frozen pipes monitor….such a hack 😉

Leave a Reply

